Ecuador Makes New Plea for UNASUR

April 15, 2010

by AQ Online

Ecuadorian Foreign Minister Ricardo Patiño reported today that he received a “very positive responses” from the governments of Chile and Uruguay following Ecuador’s request to speed up ratification of the treaty that will legally form the Unión de Naciones Suramericanas (UNASUR). Patiño is currently on a three-day tour of the Southern Cone, which will conclude today after meetings with Argentine and Peruvian officials.

Ecuador holds the temporary chairmanship of UNASUR and will soon begin construction of the organization’s headquarters in the community of Mitad del Mundo located near Quito. The Ecuadorian government has been pushing for the necessary number of treaty ratifications for UNASUR to come into full legal effect. So far, only Ecuador, Bolivia, Venezuela, and Guyana—4 of the 12 countries meant to comprise UNASUR—have ratified the treaty.

Comment on this post

Other topics discussed during the tour include the designation of the organization’s new general secretary on May 4, the creation of Banco del Sur, and ongoing dialogue between the U.S. and Latin American countries over the region’s commitments to Haiti.

Read a previous Daily Focus on UNASUR and Haiti.

Tags: Ecuador, Banco del Sur, UNASUR

To speak with an expert on this topic, please contact the communications office at: or (212) 277-8384.
blog comments powered by Disqus


Connect with AQ

Twitter YouTube Itunes App Store


Most Popular


  • Most Viewed
  • Past:
  • 1 day
  • 1 week
  • 1 month
  • 1 year


Atlanta, GA
   Sabrina Karim
Bogotá, Colombia
   Jenny Manrique
Caracas, Venezuela
   Paula Ramón
Guatemala City, Guatemala
   Louisa Reynolds
   Nic Wirtz
Monterrey, Mexico
   Arjan Shahani
Montreal, Canada
   John Parisella
Ottawa, Canada
   Huguette Young
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
   Flora Charner
   Stephen Kurczy


Salvador, Brazil
   Paulo Rogério
San Salvador, El Salvador
   Julio Rank Wright
  Carlos Ponce
Santiago, Chile
   Joseph Hinchliffe
Washington, DC
  Eric Farnsworth
  Liz Harper
  Christian Gómez, Jr.
  Christine Gomes
  Kezia McKeague
  Johanna Mendelson Forman